The Altoona Chorus Leadership

The Altoona Chorus thrives because of the energy and style of the people who have stepped up to lead. Here are a few of the people that make their ensemble tick:


Ann George - Director

Ann is a certified ann cropped front  director with over 35 years experience directing the chorus.  She has been a member of the Altoona Chorus since 1970.  Ann is currently a member of  the  Region #19 faculty, and past Director of Musical Activities.  Under her direction, the Altoona Chorus has won their division numerous times and twice qualified for International competition in Greenville, South Carolina, where they placed 4th and then 3rd in the world. 


Ann is a dynamic and inspiring force in the Altoona Chorus.  Her vision and determination continue to move this chorus forward to reach new heights of performance and education.  You will love singing under her direction.



Mary Kay Parrish - Assistant Director

Mary Kay Parrish

Mary Kay Parrish, also a certified director, is the Assistant Director.  She has been a member of the chorus since 1973, and has been a member of the music staff for over 30 years.


Mary Kay provides support and direction whenever needed by the director and the music staff.


Her dedication and determination provide added inspiration

to the chorus.


Tamara Hoffman - President

Tamara Hoffman - PresidentTamara is serving as the administrative leader for the board of directors of the Altoona Chorus.  She has been a member of the Altoona Chorus for more than 5 years.  She is dedicated to the chorus and a valued member of the Baritone Section.  Tamara is serving her second term as chorus president and we are fortunate to have such capable leadership.  We look forward to great things from Tamara as she leads the chorus in another successful year.


Music Team
The Musical Director is assisted by a teMusic Teamam of section leaders who support and assist Ann in taking the musical product to the next level. (Left to right are:  Vicky Westley, Sally Raabe, Nancy Leahey, Mary Kay Parrish, Ann George and Peggy Freyvogel - absent from picture is Carol Hogue.)  Nancy Leahey is the Bass section leader, Peggy Freyvogel, Sally Raabe and Carol Hogue are the Lead section leaders, Vicky Westley is the Tenor section leader and Mary Kay Parrish is the Baritone section leader.  This talented team assists in the selection of music, the supervision of section rehearsals and in the education of their section and the performance of the chorus overall.



Board of Directors 

2017 InstallationThe administrative duties of the chorus are attended to by the Board of Directors.  Under the leadership of the President, the board handles the details necessary to manage and run the chorus effectively.  Current board members are as follows: Tamara Hoffman, president; Mary Kay Parrish, vice-president; Nichole Hollibaugh, corresponding secretary; Shari Shultz, recording secretary; Betty Martin, treasurer; and Mary Ann Earnest, Peggy Freyvogel and Carol Myers, members.  Being a member of the board gives members a chance to use their administrative skills to the benefit of the chorus.  The board oversees all fund raising, marketing, membership, and record keeping in support of the musical program of the chorus.







February 25, 2020

Where to Find Us

The Altoona Chorus meets for rehearsal on Tuesday evenings at 7pm at the Jaggard First United Methodist Church, 1801 Pleasant Valley Boulevard in Altoona (need directions?)


Meet the Chorus

Come to the About Us section to meet the director, and find out what we're all about!


Join Us!

Want to sing with a bunch of fabulous women? Want to learn amazing, classic songs? Come to the Join Us section to find out how you can get involved.


New Pix

Come to the photo gallery to check out our most recent pictures. 


What is Barbershop?

Find out about this fabulous artform and the organization of women barbershoppers on our What is Barbershop page.


Support Your Chorus

Find out how you can help support great music in your community!

<<  February 2020  >>
 Su  Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Members Login